Which of the following is not the member of SCO? (CSS MPT 2023)

A. Tajikistan
B. Uzbekistan
C. Turkaminstan
D. Kyrgyzstan

Show Answerโ€ฆ
Correct Answer:

What is Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)?

The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO), a Eurasian political, economic and security forum founded in 2001.

Who are the Members of SCO in 2022?

SCO is comprised of Nine (9) members states in 2022 now. Recently Iran has also joined SCO. These members are the following

  1. China ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ณ
  2. India ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ
  3. Kazakhstan ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
  4. Kyrgyzstan ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ฌ
  5. Russia ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ
  6. Tajikistan ๐Ÿ‡น๐Ÿ‡ฏ
  7. Pakistan ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฐ
  8. Uzbekistan ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ฟ
  9. Iran ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ท (joined in recent Samarkand summit 2022. However, The process of Iran becoming a full member of the SCO will complete by 2023 summit)

NOTE: Turkaminstan & Azarbhaijan from Central Asian Republics (CARs) are not the members of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)so far.

Observer States of SCO

These observer states arr interested in acceding to full membership

  1. Afghanistan,
  2. Belarus,
  3. Mongolia

Dialogue Partners of SCO

While the dialogue partners of SCO are the following

  1. Armenia,
  2. Azerbaijan,
  3. Cambodia,
  4. Nepal,
  5. Sri Lanka
  6. Turkey)

Other details of SCO

SCO is a permanent intergovernmental international organization. The SCO Charter was signed in 2002, and entered into force in 2003.
Prior to the creation of SCO in 2001, Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan were members of the Shanghai Five.
India and Pakistan became members in 9th June, 2017.
On 17th September, 2021, the decision to admit Iran as a full member was declared in the 21th summit of the SCO leaders in Dushanbe, Tajikistan. Iran acquired observer status in the organisation in June 2005.

Leave a Reply